INTROVERT V EXTROVERT [DO YOU REALLY KNOW?]

When someone says extrovert, what do you think?
Social butterfly…life of the party….people person…

Now, how about introvert?
Shy and reserved…likes to stay in…smaller social circle….

That’s what I thought my entire life. And with those definitions, I firmly believed I was an extrovert. The super bubbly, has major fomo so always goes out, and has a lot of friends kind of a girl. But recently, through digging up information, speaking with others, and some self-reflection, I’ve learned that I am more so on the introverted side. Weiiiiiird. I would never in a million years think that.

I am an extroverted introvert.

So, what the hell does that mean?

For starters, imagine that you have your own personal fuel tank and it is filled up with everything that “energizes you” on a weekly basis. For me, I chose consistency, healthy eating, exercise, good sleep, organization in my life and my head, cleanliness, strong ongoing relationships with family and friends, and me time.

Now imagine that every day, your fuel tank starts to decrease a bit. While you are adding fuel, you are simultaneously partaking in other activities that take out your energy. Come Sunday, you may feel depleted.

Let’s take me for instance. I’ll make up a hypothetical weekend. Maybe I drank too much and binge ate bad food, didn’t sleep enough because I stayed up too late, was too hungover to workout the next day, room was a mess because I was on the constant go, didn’t have enough time to talk to my parents, had no me time, and the time spent with my friends was not quality because all we did all weekend was slam shots and talk to random guys at the bar that we would probably never see again.

Say this weekend happened. My fuel tank would be negative.

Why did I just blab about a hypothetical weekend? This is where introvert comes into play.

When my fuel tank reaches negative, I feel depressed, anxious, disconnected, and on the verge of a melt down.

The only way for me to cope is to be alone. DING DING DING, INTROVERT.

Maybe my example was extreme, but anytime I feel “off” for any reason, I don’t want to be with friends (I love you guys, nothing personal!) I just want me time.

I need to regroup by having space and chill time. I don’t want to think, I don’t want to talk, and I definitely don’t want to be in a social environment where I feel like I have to be “on.” I just want to be comfortable in my discomfort.

An extrovert, on the other hand, is energized by being around people and in a social environment. An extrovert would fill his or her fuel tank up by surrounding him or herself by people. They thrive in social environments and energy is poured into their tank, filling them back up again.

Make sense?

I thought it was interesting!

So are you an introvert, an extrovert, or an extroverted introvert?

Leave a Reply

